Frequently Asked Questions about DUI Arrest in Georgia Frequently Asked Questions about DUI Arrest in Georgia
Call Us 770-923-4948

FAQs

Return of Driver’s License After DUI Conviction in Georgia

What will happen to my Georgia driver’s license if I plead guilty if it is my 1st offense?  If this is your first DUI in 5 years, your Georgia driver’s license is suspended for 1 year Read More…  

Multiple DUI Convictions in Georgia

What will happen to my Georgia driver’s license if I plead guilty on my 2nd DUI offense? If this is your second DUI within 5 years, you will lose your Georgia driver’s license for 3 years Read More…  

Punishment for Georgia DUI Convictions

What is the minimum punishment for a DUI conviction in Georgia?  The punishment for DUI in Georgia varies depending on the number of prior DUIs Read More…  

Under 21 DUI Charges in Atlanta

I am a teenage driver, under 21. Am I treated differently? Yes. First, you are considered DUI if you register above a .02 on the state’s breath test. Second, your penalties are different than those of persons over 21 Read More…  

Georgia Driver’s Rights

The officer read from a card after he arrested me, but he never read me my “rights.” Does this matter? Upon arrest, a person being arrested for a DUI must be read the Implied Consent Notice Read More…  

Georgia DUI Field Tests/ State DUI Chemical Tests in Georgia

What happens if I refuse to take a state test of my blood, breath or urine? If you refuse, your Georgia license can be suspended for a full year! It also informs you of your right to an independent test once you take the State test(s) Read More…  

Hiring An Atlanta DUI Attorney

Is it really possible to win my DUI? Yes! If you believe that you were not under the influence to the extent that you were less safe to drive, or if you believe the test was inaccurate Read More…  

Georgia DUI Convictions on Driving Record

How long do DUI’s stay on my record? Effective July 1, 2008 ALL look back periods for punishment purposes have changed to 10 years instead of 5 years Read More…  

Child Endangerment Charges

What does a Child Endangerment charge mean? Any person charged with DUI while transporting a child under 14 can also be charged with a separate charge of “DUI Child Endangerment Read More…  

Georgia DUI Convictions and Commercial Driver’s License

How does a DUI affect my CDL? If you are arrested for a DUI, whether driving a commercial vehicle or a private vehicle, a DUI can affect your commercial license in various ways Read More…  

Georgia DUI Court Programs

What is a DUI Court program? DUI Court programs are becoming more popular with judges as a way of forcing a defendant to attend intensive substance abuse programs Read More…

Newsletter

Location

Disclaimer

The above information is intended to help educate members of the Georgia motoring public as to their rights under the law and to assist presumptively innocent citizens in properly asserting those rights. Information within this site should not be misconstrued as legal advice.