Call Us 770-923-4948

Child Endangerment Charges

  • What does a Child Endangerment charge mean? Any person charged with DUI while transporting a child under 14 can also be charged with a separate charge of “DUI Child Endangerment.
  • What happens if I am charged with Child Endangerment along with DUI? Child Endangerment is a separate crime punishable by up to a $1000 fine and 12 months in jail! The endangerment charge cannot be “merged” into the DUI: meaning it cannot be dismissed just because you plead guilty to the DUI. It is also considered a separate DUI offense by the Department of Driver’s Services, so if you are convicted of DUI while transporting 2 children under 14, you would automatically be declared a Habitual Violator because you would have 3 DUI convictions!

Newsletter

Location

Disclaimer

The above information is intended to help educate members of the Georgia motoring public as to their rights under the law and to assist presumptively innocent citizens in properly asserting those rights. Information within this site should not be misconstrued as legal advice.
Child Endangerment Charges Atlanta Duluth Georgia