Punishment for Georgia DUI Convictions
- What is the minimum punishment for a DUI conviction in Georgia?
The punishment for DUI in Georgia varies depending on the number of prior DUIs. TheMINIMUM punishments are as follows:
- FIRST DUI CONVICTION IN 10 YEARS: $300.00 to $1,000.00 fine, 24 hours in jail (if you register above .08), 40 hours community service, mandatory 12 months probation, completion of a DUI Risk Reduction Program, and a clinical evaluation and treatment program if recommended.
- SECOND DUI CONVICTION IN 10 YEARS: $600.00 to $1,000.00 fine, 72 hours in jail, 30 days community service, mandatory alcohol or drug treatment, mandatory Risk Reduction Program, mandatory 12 months probation, notice of DUI conviction (with photo) in local newspaper, surrender of all license plates for cars registered in offender’s name.
- THIRD DUI CONVICTION IN 10 YEARS: $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 fine, 15 days in jail, 30 days community service, mandatory Risk Reduction Program, mandatory alcohol or drug treatment, mandatory 12 months probation, license suspension for 5 years, notice of DUI conviction(with photo) in local paper, and loss of all license plates on all cars titled in your name.
- FOURTH OR SUBSEQUENT DUI CONVICTION IN 10 YEARS: Is a felony, with a fine of $1,000 to $5,000, one to five years in prison, 60 days community service, risk reduction program, clinical alcohol evaluation and treatment, and a period of 5 years probation, less any days during which the person is actually imprisoned.
- What is administrative GA driver’s license suspension?
Georgia law provides that your license can be administratively suspended, even if you have not gone to court on your DUI, under the following situations:
- If you are over 21, and you register above a .08
- If you are under 21, and you register a .02
- If you are charged with DUI and refuse to take the state test of your blood, breath, or urine
In order to keep your Georgia driver’s license from being administratively suspended, you must request a hearing with the Department of Public Safety within 10 business days of your arrest, and send in a $150 filing fee with the request
- What is an interlock device?
An interlock device looks like a cell phone, and is installed in your car by a state certified installer. In order to start your car, you must blow into the device, and the device must read below a .02 alcohol. Interlock devices are now required in Georgia for multiple offenders.